The Foundation for Sacred Arts is pleased to announce the winners of our 2010 International Sacred Music Competition for Composers. We would like to express our sincere appreciation for the hard work and dedication of all participating composers.

We received many fine works of sacred music and had to make difficult decisions regarding the selection of winning works. The judging process was blind, meaning that none of the judges had access to the composer's names or any biographical information. The winners have already been notified and are listed below.  

Category I: Non-liturgical Sacred Choral Works
1st: Amen, Alleluia (Revelations 19:4-9), Daniel Knaggs
2nd: Credo, Frank La Rocca
3rd: He Who Eats This Bread (John 6:54-55, 58), Daniel Knaggs

Category II: New English Mass Settings
1st: Mass in Honor of St. Maximillian Kolbe, Jeffrey Quick
2nd: Mass of St. Theresa of Avila, Daniel Knaggs
3rd: Missa Sancti Johannes Apostoli, Daniel Knaggs

Honorable Mention: Mass, Paul Ayres
Honorable Mention: Mass of the Resurrection, Audrey Faith Seah    
Honorable Mention: Mass of the Blessed Virgin, Mary John Henderson
Honorable Mention: Mass, Amanda Jacobs

Dr. Kurt Poterack, Music Department Chair, Christendom College; Director Emeritus, Church Music Association of America; Editor-at-Large, Sacred Music; Composer

Dr. William Mahrt, President, Church Music Association of America; Editor, Sacred Music; Associate Professor of Music, Stanford University; Director of Music, St. Thomas Aquinas Church, Palo Alto, CA

James Flood, President and Founder, The Foundation for Sacred Arts; Director of Music, St. Clement Church, Lakewood, OH; Director of the Lyceum Schola Cantorum, The Lyceum, Cleveland, OH

Dr. Susan Treacy, Associate Professor of Music, Ave Maria University; Board of Directors, Church Music Association of America; Music for Review, Sacred Music

Richard Rice, America's preeminent chant typographer; Compiler and Editor of The Parish Book of Chant and Communio; Director of the Cantica Novum Schola of Greater Washington; Professional chorister; Composer

Mark Nowakowski, Curator of Music, The Foundation for Sacred Arts; Composer

Winning works will be premiered and recorded on August 14th, 2010 at the Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception in Washington, D.C.

Back to Current Events